Skiing at the Collegiate Level

There are two organizations involved in with collegiate ski racing in the United States. The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the United States Collegiate Ski & Snowboard Association (USCSA).


  • The nation is divided into three regions: East (EISA), Central (CISA) and Rocky Mountain (RMISA)
  • Maintains about 12% of the collegiate ski programs in the United States
  • Schools can be Division I, II or III NCAA institutions
  • Teams are varsity, funded activites (to varying degrees)
  • Non-Ivy League Division I and II schools offer athletic scholarships


  • The nation is divided into five regions: Eastern, Mid--Atlantic, Mid-West, Far West and West
  • The five regions are split into 11 conferences
  • Maintains about 88% of the skiing programs in the United States
  • Many schools are Division I, II, III NCAA and NAIA institutions, but are also USCSA members and chose to compete in the USCSA. Individual student-athletes may compete in NCAA events including NCAA Nationals
  • Teams may be varsity (fully funded or partially funded) or club sports or made up of just a few individuals
  • 4-year and 2-year institutions compete in the USCSA
  • Some USCSA member schools offer athletic scholarships, but most do not